The New York NOC (NYNOC) one year review

kazar

I am just a moderately-skilled business owner who is very grateful to others, most much more knowledgeable than I, who take the time to post their experience on various forums. Information I was able to find on the web has helped me to choose vendors, troubleshoot issues, etc., when I run a one-man shop and pretty much have to wear all hats.

So this is my one-year review of The New York NOC, in hopes it helps someone else who is choosing hosting providers.

I have a mid-level VPS plan with NYNOC, with CPanel, which I use to house several domains, run a couple of Mailman discussion lists, and act as my DNS server and mail server as well.

I can say that with the exception of two or three DDOS attack incidents over the past year (and none in quite a while) during which it was difficult to access my server for about 24 hours, **I have had 100 percent uptime**. Because I am only a beginner at managing a linux web server, I have often needed to post a trouble-ticket and have always got a satisfactory response from NYNOC employees.

In fact, what I have appreciated most is that if I explain in my trouble ticket that I would rather be taught what to do (for next time) rather than just have someone fix it for me ... Andy (NYNOC owner) has gone above and beyond the call of duty to patiently teach me what needs to be done, so that I can become more and more self-sufficient.

I currently have a Super VPS #2 plan which for a mere $9.95 per month gives me 20 GB of storage, 1,000 GB of bandwidth, 512 MB of guaranteed RAM, and for $15/month additional (because someone like me really needs it) CPanel. For years I was with webintellects who I thought ran a pretty good shop but downtime was a little too common and response from my server was extremely slow (whether due to their distance from a backbone, internal network problems, or what I can't say).

Response time to my server at The New York NOC is extremely fast.