• 🎉 Big News: Circle City Servers is backing our CloudFest Americas coverage. Read more

SiteGround made a huge error in judgment!

bigredseo

HD Community Advisor
Staff member
It's that time of year again - another large hosting company puts its foot in its mouth and potentially starts a wave of user leaving their service.

Over the past weekend, SiteGround rolled out a new WordPress AI Plugin. Nothing wrong with that, but it's what they did next that really causes concern.

In their wisdom, they decided to roll out the plugin to all of their clients (1+ million installs) and activate it on the websites by default. Let's dig into that a little.

They took a plugin that they wrote, installed it on every one of their clients' websites, even if they don't manage it, and then activated the plugin - on production sites!

There was an email sent to customers; I got mine on May 11th, saying they were preparing for the upcoming WordPress 7.0 release and that customers would be automatically upgraded. If you have auto-upgrade turned off, it won't force an upgrade. Buried in the email, there's wording about them rolling out AI Studio, and that you can install the plugin. They do not make it clear that they will auto-install the plugin on all sites, and there was no way to prevent the installation. The only information was that you can uninstall it later. We manage dozens of sites for customers, but we have to manually go into each site to disable and delete the plugin before they accidentally expose information? That's not cool!

My personal problem with all of this, aside from someone installing a plugin on a production site that we know nothing about and do not need, is: what happens to the data? SiteGround says that if you don't click the interactive chat button, your data won't be sent to their AI system for processing. But what are the chances that people didn't click the chat button to see what the heck that new circle thing is doing in the admin interface?

You can control lots of aspects of your WordPress site and WooCommerce websites, for that matter, and that's where major red flags are raised for me. A user could type "show me all customers from California that ordered in the last month," and it would take all your customer records, send them to an AI system, parse the data, and return the results. I'm sorry, where did you just send my customer data? Who touched it? Who is potentially scraping data? Who just exposed our client base, product base, income, name, address, phone number, email address, etc of a customer?

This has the potential to be a big security risk. I have real concerns about this, and the fact that it was automatically installed on a live site without my consent is even more concerning!

I have an article that goes into more detail on what happened, my big issues, and what we recommend users do. Check it out for more information: https://www.bigredseo.com/siteground-ai-plugin-controversy/

As a warning to all web designers and web hosting companies alike - do not install something, or modify something, on a client's site without prior permission. Just because it's your server doesn't mean you get to bypass the processes and procedures for live production sites. This error in judgment by SiteGround is going to have ramifications. Many people are on the hunt for a new hosting company.
 
Dang, it's hard to believe they went this route. I'd take Conor's advice to heart if you're a web designer or web hosting provider. Thanks for the update on SiteGround.
 
Wow, that is mind-blowing! I’ve certainly heard that hosting companies can push the boundaries sometimes, but this crosses every line.

If a company just forces a fait accompli on you, stating that something will be installed on your server and you can just delete it later if you want, that is a massive red flag.

The proper way to handle this would be to send out a newsletter, inform clients about potential improvements, offer to let them install the plugin themselves, and attach a download and installation link to the email. Doing it that way wouldn't cause any issues. But what they actually did is literally forcing their own ideas into someone else's business, and it's just disgusting. As you mentioned earlier, you can no longer be sure that your clients' data won't end up leaked on the internet, which is exactly what can happen when an update involves AI.

We always inform our clients about updates well in advance—usually a week or more out. And if we want to add something that everyone can benefit from, we do it strictly through a newsletter as a suggestion to enable the plugin, rather than a direct post-factum statement that we’ve already installed it and you should turn it off if you don't like it.

No matter how convenient it might be to rent a server from this company, in my opinion, this kind of attitude has severely damaged their reputation. That is precisely why many clients are leaving for other providers, and it's absolutely the right decision
 
I am only now catching up on all of it and this crosses any line that I, as a customer, would have. No one touches my site without my permission, except the parties I authorize. End of story.

I am really shocked an otherwise respectable giant like SiteGround would make a decision like that. I am not a customer of their myself, but I know people that run significant e-commerce operations with them and who are very, VERY sensitive to security and customer data, who would be super upset about it.

Besides, they just took a major liability risk on their own shoulders should there be a security issue.
 
Back
Top