How long have you been hosting?

BlackStorm

How long have you been running your hosting company for?
Did you offer what you do now when you first started?
Has everything gone to plan so far according to your business plan? (Assuming you have one. If any host is over one month old and tells me it has, don’t, we all know its lies ;))

What do you wish you could change about the past of your hosting company, if anything?
Are you happy with how its going so far?
What were your reasons for starting out in the hosting business? How did you first get involved and interested?

I've been hosting myself since May 2003, but was with my friend Ryan for a while before that.. I was looking to keep going on my own, but I ended up merging with a local hosting company around here, which made it alot better for both our companies. I like the way it turned out and I am glad it happened, although, was never planned to happen.

Do you know how long they have been up for business?
I started in 2002 but i only did free hosting at first.
Closed the free hosting just a few days ago on my site so only really doing premium for now, will still be doing free accounts at special occasions though :)

2 plus years We started in MAR 2001 with the domain TriStateISP.com

Wish I had at the start, known how important uptime and service is.I thought I would pinch a few pennys and save big....well I lost big.If I had all the customers now that I had lost (downtimes beyond my control from cheap datacenters and providers) I would be very large now.

BUT
We are now back on track with quality service being 1st,price for customers 2nd.

Has it panned out like I thought?

No... but I am getting a higher quality of customers now that want their websites to be up all the time and dont care to pay for that.

thanks
Chris

That is unfortinate about your first experiences, however, I know exactly what you mean, went through the EXACT same thing, not good at all.