Colocation Hosting

alex0

Hi,
I am new to this hosting industry, can anyone please explain me what is COLOCATION HOSTING? I know a little bit about the same since i searched on google for it, but I am still not sure about it in detail. It would be nice if any one could help me out in this topic. :help:

Thanks..!! :)

Basically you are renting a space in a data center where you can host your own equipment. Unlike renting a dedicated server, you will have to provide all hardware, software and in most cases any technical support - although most data centers offer hands on help, but at a price..

Colocation is VERY different from dedicated servers. Most people getting started in colocation don't realize the sheer difference. With a dedicated server the host is responsible for anything local, with colocation you're just renting space, power, and a network drop. Anything outside of that is your responsibility, providing the hardware, doing hardware diagnostics and repair, etc. Now, some facilities can help with 24/7 on-site staffing, but be prepared to pay for them to do the work for you. I would highly recommend getting some sort of remote management for colocated systems, such as DRAC, IPMI, etc.

Colocation is simple - client provides the hardware and the data center provider provides rack space, power and Internet bandwidth. Some colocation providers will offer 24x7 access and managed services as well.

Honestly... I would not believe if someone who's signature says "VPS Hosting : KVM VPS powered by Virtualizor" does not know what "Colocation" means. The guys know "Virtualizor", a relatively new app to manage virtualized environments, but does not have an idea what does "Colocation" mean.... give me a break.

It is not a good way to create posting history...