Avoiding Hackers on my VPS !!!

Ajay-HostIN

Dear All,

I made up scans of WHM and did almost everything that can help in getting out of this scaneo. Today a customer called me saying that their account is been hacked. I checked the Bugs that appears with the caption "Hacked by Asparux". After reviewing, meeting some php scripts and now I'm studying to see which was the way they accessed the account. If anyone knows how to prevent these attacks, 'll be very grateful. Greetings to all..

Almost impossible to avoid them entirely. Poor permissions + poor code = hacked. Maybe you can jail the users somehow? That won't stop sites from being hacked but it will possibly contain the damage to just the jailed environment. Looks like CPanel has added some features to help but I haven't used CPanel much in the last while so maybe somebody else can help out.

Yeah VPS is risky. Shared and cloud hosting is a little more secure. I wouldn't get VPS unless you are a system admin.

Most of the time, server is hacked just because of poor scripting or weak password, you should optimize script every week and keep a very strong password for control panel and databases and not share it with anyone.

You can secure your server with the best protection, but users sites can still get hacked if they use weak passwords or outdated scripts.

we had a few wordpress clients who had their sites compromised yes server secure, due to outdated scripts and then when we looked at the outdated scripts list we found some still using version 3.5 and it is now 4.1, so gave all clients notice to update within 7 days or sites with outdated scripts would be suspended and charged to be unsuspended, some updates and some never until sites were suspended and this got their attention

I would suggest to keep the firewall up always and keep changing your password very often to avoid any unwanted entries on your server.

Hi,