Anyone owns a webhosting company

Vibe

Well i was recently in a chat room that is primarily for people that own web hosting companies. Anyways someone imed me and told me that they are starting a web hosting company and asked me for help and I said sure.

Then I asked what he needs help with and he said everything he doesn't know how to do anything. Well I got quite mad about this becuz its a perfect example that anyone from the streets with a few bucks can start a web hosting company. Thats why the webhosting field has such a bad name.

Yup. Its the internet, any 10 year old can start a web hosting business. People don't realize that it IS a business, and people rely on them. When people ask me for help with/starting their web hosting company and don't know a thing about it, I give a good 10 minute speech that makes them change their mind :) .

I am a web designer based in manchester england and I have been having a nightmare finding a reliable hosting company. I have been thinking of setting up my own web host for use with the sites I design only!! but alas I dont really know where to start it has been sugested to me that I use red hat which comes with apache web server????
Please can any one help me as things are getting pretty urgent now.

My biggest beef as well...any one who has a PC can be a "web" solution provider. makes me mad as hell.

alan said:
I am a web designer based in manchester england and I have been having a nightmare finding a reliable hosting company. I have been thinking of setting up my own web host for use with the sites I design only!! but alas I dont really know where to start it has been sugested to me that I use red hat which comes with apache web server????

Hi alan,