Reselling Without Web Design

AbbieRose

I've been running a web design business for a couple of years and have offered hosting as a part of the service to make it an all in one service. But I see a lot that people offer reselling without any other service, and I am not really sure how that would work.

I can see from the point of view of the reseller that you would make a profit by selling on small chunks of your hosting. But for the person buying, what are the advantages? Could they not find cheaper hosting (from the prices I have seen reselling packages going for) by buying their own hosting?

I don't mark up my hosting, so don't make more than pennies profit, so can you tell me-does this really work?

I don't mark up my hosting, so don't make more than pennies profit
Interesting. From what I noticed, web designers who offer hosting manage to use some really high markups, and also manage to sell packages that are quite small. I guess it all depends on them putting their message in front of the right people.

That's a smart observation, but reseller hosting still represents a major chunk of the whole industry. In my opinion, it all comes down to how good a marketer you are.

If you know how to reach local businesses in a smart and cost-efficient way, then you will sell your services well. On top of that, resellers who go exclusively after their local markets usually price their services higher in order to earn more.

Chances are local businesses are not technically savvy, so they won't go on research rampage. Most of them care more about where you are geographically (same town, community, etc) than the number of POP3 email boxes you'll offer them. I have seen companies pay as much as $25-75/month for 25 MB of space and 500 MB transfer allotment to this day. :)