Is asking for help from someone in the business, asking for too much?

inertial

Greetz everyone,

I have been frequenting this awesome discussion site for awhile now, although I have not posted until now.

Here I am, I am a CS major with one year of school under my belt, and I have an unending urge to start my own small business - a web hosting business. I have a good degree of knowledge in IT, and have been running and operating my own FreeBSD web and seperate mail server for a couple years now... mainly hosting personal sites, as well as web sites for friends. I also have significant experience in design as well as good business sense, and feel that I have the knowledge, desire, and work ethic to be successful.

I have an idea of where I should start, but I find myself desperately wanting to find someone who is in the field, and who has managed to have some degree of success, and have that person give me some pointers. I realize that it may be a bit much to expect that someone just walk me though starting my own business - but I hope that there is a successful business person who would be willing to advise me. I don’t know, is it asking too much to have someone help me with devising my initial plan for starting up? I sincerely hope that there is someone out there that may be able to.. for lack of a better term.. walk me through certain stages.

I have aquired numerous books on starting a new buisness, however I find myself wanting to have someone to actualy compare notes with, someone I know that I can contact with questions and develop a business/mentor relationship with.

I am even willing to work for you for free in order to gain more first hand knowlage in the industry. :D

I am not going to take up too much space going through a litany of questions I have. I figure that it would be better to instead discuss my questions via e-mail, or possibly in person (San Diego, CA).

I would be incredibly grateful for any responses.

Sincerely,

joshua j.